In the Seine River School Division, only Ward 3 voters will head to the polls to select their local trustees. 

Senior Election Officer Phil Marriott says candidates for wards one and two are in by acclamation. 

Each ward has three seats on the school board with six people running for those three seats for Ward 3.

“The one thing people don’t know is that you can place up to three votes,” Marriott says. “So, it’s not just a matter of choosing one trustee over another. You can pick three, up to three as your choices.” 

Ward 3 candidates are incumbents Theresa Bergson and Trina Wall, along with Katie Howe, Robert Rivard, Sajda Siemens, and Lise Verrier. 

Ward 2 only had two candidates which leaves one seat vacant. Vicky Kiansky and Christine Roskos are acclaimed. 

Also in by acclamation, Ward 1 positions will be filled by Wendy Bloomfield, Gary Nelson, and Warren Reavely. 

Marriott says the new school board will decide if they want to hold a by-election or appoint someone to the vacant position for Ward 2. 

For the purpose of accommodating persons who are qualified to vote and who have reason to believe that they will be absent or otherwise unable to attend their proper polling place on election day, an advance polling place will be located at the Seine River School Division at 475-A Senez Street in Lorette, and will be open Wednesday, October 19 between 8:00 am and 8:00 pm. 

Mobile voting is also an option for the purpose of accommodating persons who are qualified to vote but reside at a health care facility. A mobile voting station will be set up on election day, Wednesday October 26, at Villa Youville in Ste. Anne from 9:00 am to 12:00 pm.

Marriott says voters can find more election details on the SRSD website.