The Steinbach Regional Secondary School has qualified for the quarterfinals at the Provincial High School Baseball Championship. The Sabres won both their round robin games Thursday in Brandon defeating the Garden Valley Zodiacs of Winkler 7-5 and Carberry/Cartwright/Baldur 4-2.

The Zone 13 champion St. Joachim Braves will meet the Pilot Mound Pilots and Stonewall Rams on day one of the Provincial High School Fastpitch Championship in Brandon. The eight second and third place teams meet this afternoon to determine who joins the top team in each of the four pools in the quarterfinals.

It's day one of the Provincial AAAA High School Varsity Boys Soccer Championship in Winnipeg. Steinbach Regional will face West Kildonan in the quarterfinals at 11:30 a.m. at St. John's Ravenscourt School.

Steinbach’s Adam Guenther, who plays out of Elmhurst, was eliminated on day one of the Manitoba Men's Match Play Championship at Quarry Oaks. The second seed lost 1-up to clubmate Jacob Taweel. Jamie Roy of Quarry Oaks won his opener 3 & 1 over Brad Pardy of Shilo and will face Taweel today in the round of 16. Kate Gregoire of Quarry Oaks will meet Mikyla Albert of Selkirk today in the round of 16 in the Women's Division.

The University of Manitoba Bisons men's golf team is in 16th place after day two of the 2022 Canadian University/College Championships in Bromont, Quebec. The Bisons are 48 shots back of the first place University of British Columbia Thunderbirds. Stefan Lavallee was three over par 75 yesterday and is in a tie for 23rd place at plus three. Connor Stewart was 73 and is plus nine; Cole Peters was 73 and is plus 14; Brent Ingram was 82 and is plus 15 and Lachlan Allerton was 87 and is plus 27.

Max Murphy homered twice as the Winnipeg Goldeyes downed Cleburne 7-4 and completed a three-game sweep of the Railroaders. The Fish open a three-game weekend series against the Lincoln Saltdogs tonight at Shaw Park.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers cut 11 players from their training camp roster. Released were American linebacker Darian Taylor, American receivers BJ Mucklevene and Whop Philyor, American running back Shane Simpson, American offensive lineman Leon Johnson, American defensive end Jordan Berner, American defensive backs Corey Straughter, Josh Miller, Zach Hannibal and Javon Jackson along with National offensive lineman Brandon Sanford.