Six provincial high school varsity volleyball champions were crowned Saturday. The Landmark 96’ers boys and Major Pratt Trojans girls captured the Provincial “AA” championships in The Pas. The 96ers defeated Gabrielle Roy Les Roy 25-23, 19-25, 15-9 while the Trojans beat the Hapnot Kopper Queens 25-19, 25-18. The Rosenort Redhawks beat Gabrielle Roy 26-24, 25-21 in the girls third place game. The Westgate Wings beat College Beliveau 25-14, 25-15 in the “AAA” girls championship game in Neepawa. The Linden Christian Wings defeated Transcona 18-25, 25-16, 18-16 in the “AAA” boys final in Steinbach. The host Steinbach Christian Flames lost to Northlands Parkway in the quarterfinals. The Deloraine Colts defeated Hamiota 14-25, 25-23, 15-11 in the “A” girls championship game in Gretna. The Treherne Tigers beat Wawanesa 19-25, 25-19, 15-13 in the “A” boys final in Elm Creek.

Brayden Kizlik scored the go-ahead goal on the power play with 5:54 remaining in the third period and Blake Gordichuk added his second of the night into an empty net with 40 seconds left as Springfield defeated Landmark 5-3 in the lone Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League game. Kai Orchard and Braeden Rebeck also scored for the Xtreme. Kieren Reimer had a pair of goals for the Blues and drew an assist on Jacob Penner’s third period power play goal.

The Niverville Nighthawks gave up four unanswered goals including three in the third period and lost 4-2 to the Wolverines in Waywayseecappo. Ty Kennett and Josh Paulhus did the goal scoring for the Nighthawks.

Riley Tirschman scored Beausejour’s lone goal in the Comets 5-1 loss to the defending Capital Region Junior Hockey League champion Fishermen in Selkirk.

The Ste. Anne Aces and Warren Mercs were winners in the SEMHL Saturday night. Ste. Anne jumped out to a 3-0 lead en route to a 5-2 victory over Winkler. Owen Blocker, Braden Purtill, Alex Tetrault, Brett Meilleur and Keith Grondin did the goal scoring for the Aces who moved into sole possession of first place with a 6-1-0-2 record. Jordan Peters and Mitch Doell replied for the Royals. Brock Couch scored the go-ahead goal 8:15 into the third period as Warren edged the Morden Bombers 4-3.

Carson Bjarnason made 38 saves and Brett Hyland and Nolan Ritchie scored two goals each as the Brandon Wheat Kings defeated the Swift Current Broncos 4-2 at Westoba Place. Conor Geekie scored his second goal of the game on the power play with 2:27 left in the third period and that proved to be the winner as the Winnipeg Ice downed the Prince Albert Raiders 6-4. Matthew Savoie scored twice for the Ice while Ty Nash chipped in with three assists.

Greg Meireles scored the go-ahead goal with 2:38 remaining in regulation as the Manitoba Moose shaded the Milwaukee Admirals 3-2. Nicholas Jones and Wyatt Bongiovanni also scored for the Moose who outshot the Admirals 31-21.

Matt Dunstone of Winnipeg, John Shuster of Duluth, Clancy Grandy of Vancouver and Nancy Martin of Saskatoon won “A” event qualifiers Saturday at the DEKALB Superspiel in Morris.