Manitoba's 43rd general election is now officially underway. 

The writ dropped Tuesday morning, marking the start of the election period. Manitobans will go to the polls on Tuesday, October 3rd.

Advance voting runs for eight days, from Saturday, September 23 until Saturday, September 30. Manitobans can vote at any advance poll in the province.

To be eligible to vote, you must be a Canadian citizen, at least 18 years of age on election day, have lived in Manitoba for at least six months prior to election day and have a voter information card. Voters will receive their voter information card in the mail. 

On election day, Manitobans can vote at any polling place in their electoral division.

As of today, candidates may officially be nominated. Candidates must file nomination papers with their local election office before 1 pm on Monday, September 11th.

Heading into the election, the Manitoba Legislature consisted of 57 seats; 35 Progressive Conservatives, 18 New Democratic Party, three Liberals and one vacant. The vacant seat was Morden-Winkler, and became vacant when previous MLA Cameron Friesen stepped down to seek the nomination for the federal Conservative Party of Canada in Portage-Lisgar.


In response to Canada's Online News Act and Meta (Facebook and Instagram) removing access to local news from their platforms, SteinbachOnline encourages you to get your news directly from your trusted source by bookmarking this page and downloading the SteinbachOnline app.