Steinbach Regional will meet College Jeanne-Sauve at Glenlawn Collegiate in Winnipeg Friday night in the South Central Athletic Conference AAAA varsity girls volleyball final. The Sabres defeated the J.H. Bruns Broncos 25-13, 25-11, 20-25, 25-8 in the semifinals Wednesday night in Steinbach. The SRSS varsity boys lost to Dakota Collegiate in their semifinal. The Lancers beat the Sabres 16-25, 25-17, 25-21, 25-17.

Lucas Jolicoeur had a goal and two assists as Steinbach Regional downed the St. Paul's Crusaders 6-2 at the T.G. Smith Arena. Colton Wiebe, Dominic Rooney, Preston Perreault, Rhys Guenther and Chase Bueckert also scored for the Sabres who have won three in a row after starting the 2023-24 Winnipeg High School Hockey League season with three losses. 

Daniel Banman made 43 saves in the Eastman Selects 7-4 victory over the Winnipeg Thrashers at the Sun Gro Centre in Beausejour. Grayson Slaney, Job Peters, Calyb Moore, Steele Jowett, Jeremiah Warkentine, Eric Cote and Nathan Forster did the goal scoring for the Selects. 

The Niverville Nighthawks dropped a 5-3 home ice decision to the Neepawa Titans. Nathan Brown, Brett Tataryn and Michael Debrito with his 10th of the season scored for the Nighthawks. Cody Gudnason had a goal and three assists for the Titans. Neepawa's Carter McLeod potted the go-ahead goal at 8:53 of the third period and Hayden Stocks sealed the deal with an empty netter with 48 seconds remaining in regulation. 

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers practice from 10 a.m. - 11:40 a.m. today at Tim Hortons Field. The Bombers face the Montreal Alouettes Sunday in the 110th Grey Cup in Hamilton. The CFL awards will be handed out tonight in Niagara Falls. Winnipeg running back Brady Oliveira is the West Division finalist for the Most Outstanding Player award and Most Outstanding Canadian. Jermarcus Hardrick of the Blue Bombers is in the running for Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman. Winnipeg's Mike O'Shea and Ryan Dinwiddie of the Toronto Argonauts are up for Coach of the Year honours. 

Curling Canada announced that the 2024 Canadian Curling Club Championships will be held at the Barrie Curling Club. Canada’s most talented club-level curlers will compete from November 17th--23rd, 2024. The event features women’s and men’s teams from each of Curling Canada’s Member Associations - 10 provinces, three territories and Northern Ontario - for a competitive week of grassroots curling highlighting the best skills and qualities that makeup Canada’s curling landscape. The Canadian Curling Club Championships are for recreational, club-level curlers without the time or resources to compete at the high-performance level; the event gives those curlers the exciting opportunity to represent their home province or territory and compete for a Canadian championship. Winnipeg’s Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club will host the 2023 Canadian Curling Club Championships. The event runs from November 19th-25th.

hockey_2023The Pistons hold down top spot in the MJHL's East Division

The Steinbach Pistons take on the Swan Valley Stampeders and OCN Blizzard this weekend. Head coach Paul Dyck will join Clayton Dreger on the Pistons Report which airs Thursdays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.