The St. Malo Warriors scored four goals in the first period and added four more in the second en route to a 10-2 victory over the Beausejour Comets. Teagan Fillion and Logan Fillion had three goals each for hometown Warriors who cut Beausejour's lead in the Capital Region Junior Hockey League's best-of-seven final to two games to one. Mason French added a pair of goals for St. Malo while singles went to Brady Gregoire and Sam Freynet. Nikolas Bear and Clint Thomas replied for the Comets. Game four goes Saturday night at the SunGro Centre.

Moose Jaw Warriors captain Denton Mateychuk has been named to the Western Hockey League's East Division First All-Star Team. The 19-year-old Dominion City native had 17 goals and 58 assists in 52 games with the Warriors. Moose Jaw will meet the Brandon Wheat Kings in round one of the playoffs. Swift Current Broncos defenseman Owen Pickering was selected to the Central Division First All-Star Team. The 20-year-old St. Adolphe native had seven goals and 39 assists in 59 games. The Broncos face the Lethbridge Hurricanes in round one. 

The Manitoba Moose dropped a 2-1 decision to the Toronto Marlies at Canada Life Centre. Logan Shaw won it for the Marlies as he scored his 25th of the season 51 seconds into overtime. Jeffrey Viel had the lone goal for the Moose.

Jordon McDonald has a 6-0 round robin record; Jace Freeman is 5-1; Shaela Hayward is 3-2 and Zoey Terrick is 0-4 heading into day five of the Canadian Junior Curling Championships in Fort McMurray Wood Buffalo, Alberta. McDonald defeated Tyler MacTavish of Ontario 11-3 and Nick Mosher of Nova Scotia 9-3. Freeman downed Kenan Wipf of Alberta 8-3 and lost 8-5 to Ian Deschene of Northern Ontario. Hayward beat Emma Acres of Ontario 5-3 and Terrick fell 8-3 to Jolianne Fortin of Quebec.

hockey_2023Kirk Mullen scored the OT winner in game three Tuesday night 

The defending Turnbull Cup champions are one win away from eliminating the Nighthawks. Head coach Paul Dyck will join Clayton Dreger on the Pistons Report which airs Thursdays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.