The Capital Region Junior Hockey League final between the St. Malo Warriors and Beausejour Comets is now a best-of-three series. Jozse Gauthier-Urmos made 33 saves as St. Malo defeated Beausejour 5-1 Saturday night at the SunGro Centre. Teagan Fillion, Brady Gregoire, Adam Little, Thomas Maynard and Reece Unrau did the goal scoring for the Warriors who evened the best-of-seven at two games apiece. Clint Thomas had the lone goal for the Comets. Game five goes Tuesday in St. Malo.

The South Eastern Manitoba Hockey League champion Ste. Anne Aces will face the Miniota/Elkhorn C-Hawks in Hockey Manitoba’s Provincial Senior “A” Championship. The C-Hawks slipped past the Killarney Shamrocks 3-2 in Virden and took the Tiger Hills Hockey League’s best-of-five final three games to one. Miniota/Elkhorn defeated the Aces two games to one in last year's Manitoba Cup final.

Lynden Lakovic scored 2:15 into overtime to lift the Moose Jaw Warriors past the Brandon Wheat Kings 5-4. Atley Calvert had a goal and an assist for the hometown Warriors who lead the best-of-seven WHL Eastern Conference quarterfinal two games to none. Roger McQueen had a pair of goals for Brandon while singles went to Rylen Roersma and Dominik Petr. The game was tied 2-2 after the first period and 4-4 after forty minutes. The series now shifts to Westoba Place for game three on Wednesday and game four on Thursday.

The Winnipeg Jets losing streak has reached a season-high six games. Brady Tkachuk scored the go-ahead goal on the power play with 1:45 remaining in the third period as the Ottawa Senators beat Winnipeg 3-2 at Canada Life Centre. Boris Katchouk and former Brandon Wheat Kings captain Ridly Greig also scored for the Senators who have won five in a row. Nikolaj Ehlers and Mark Scheifele replied for the Jets.

Canada’s national women’s hockey team scored five third period goals en route to an 8-2 victory over Finland in an exhibition tune-up in Kingston, Ontario. Blayre Turnbull had two goals and an assist for Canada. Deloraine’s Ashton Bell drew an assist on Julia Gosling’s third period goal. The 2024 World Women’s Hockey Championship begins next Thursday in Utica, New York. Canada will play its preliminary round opener against Finland.

Manitoba finalists Jace Freeman, Ryan Ostrowsky, Nick Senff and Luke Robins will play for bronze at the Canadian Junior Curling Championships in Fort McMurray Wood Buffalo, Alberta. Team Freeman defeated Manitoba champion Jordon McDonald 6-5 and then lost 7-5 to Kenan Wipf of Alberta in the semifinals. Freeman will meet Dylan Derksen of Saskatchewan in the bronze medal game. Manitoba champions Shaela Hayward. Keira Krahn, India Young and Rylie Cox fell 9-3 to Claire Booth of Alberta in the 2 vs 3 playoff game.

Brad Gushue is perfect heading into day two of the World Men’s Curling Championship in Schaffhausen, Switzerland. Gushue, vice-skip Mark Nichols, second E.J. Harnden and lead Geoff Walker defeated Lukas Klima of Czechia 9-8 in an extra end and Marc Muskatewitz of Germany 8-5. Gushue will face defending champion Bruce Mouat of Scotland at 7 a.m. Sunday.