The 2023 Manitoba Junior Hockey League Draft takes place today. The Turnbull Cup champion Steinbach Pistons have the 12th pick in round one while the Niverville Nighthawks have the fifth pick. The Winnipeg Freeze have the first overall selection.

Kate Gregoire of Quarry Oaks lost 6 & 5 to Clara Peake of Binscarth in the quarterfinals of Golf Manitoba’s Provincial Women's Match Play Championship at the Glendale Golf & Country Club in Winnipeg.

Steinbach Regional fell 5-4 to the Garden City Fighting Gophers in the semifinals at the Provincial High School Baseball Championship in Glenboro. The Gophers outscored the Boissevain Broncos 16-12 in the final. Sam Bergen and Seth Bergman of the Sabres were named tournament all-stars.

T.G. Smith, who organized Little League baseball in Steinbach in the mid-1950’s, was inducted posthumously into the Manitoba Baseball Hall of Fame Saturday night in Morden. Also inducted were Keith Carriere and Jeff Bouchard of Winnipeg, Laurie Langrell of Warren, Patti Hacault of Holland and Corey Billaney and Junior Brake of Boissevain. Todd Smith of Hamiota was also inducted posthumously. The four teams inducted were the 1953-56 Norwood Community Club Juvenile and Junior teams, the 2006-2015 Minnedosa Mavericks teams, the 2009-2013 Reston Rockets teams and the 1966 Hamiota Royals Juvenile team.

The Winnipeg Goldeyes losing streak has reached five games. The Fish were shutout 6-0 by the Lake Country DockHounds. Winnipeg third baseman Dayson Croes singled in the sixth inning and extended his hitting streak to 17 games.

Quarterback Josh Jones and kicker Marc Liegghio were released Saturday as the Winnipeg Blue Bombers set their week one roster. The Blue Bombers will open the 2023 CFL season Friday against the Hamilton Tiger-Cats at IG Field.