Declan Whiteman and Jeremiah Warkentine scored first period play goals as the Eastman Selects defeated the Norman Northstars 5-2 at the Sun Gro Centre in Beausejour. Mario Gagnon, Mason Hooper and Colton Pakoo also scored for the Selects. Francois Gagnon made 19 saves. Dwight Hirst was back behind the Eastman bench in his head coaching role. Hirst, along with assistant coaches Cory D’Ottavio and Mark Woloshyn, resigned one day after the Selects lost to the Winnipeg Bruins in their final game before the Christmas break. A development within the program prompted Hirst’s return this week. Goaltender coach Terry Patrick is helping out on the bench.

Ginger Fast scored her second goal of the game in overtime to lift Eastman past the Central Plains Capitals 2-1 in Portage. Selects netminder Bailey Grunewald made 25 saves.

The Niverville Nighthawks lost 6-5 to the Neepawa Titans. Dean Noonan scored the only goal of the shootout in round 12. Josh Paulus potted his 20th goal of the season for the Nighthawks.

Ethan Doell scored twice and William Paterson made 24 saves as the St. Malo Warriors downed the defending Capital Region Junior Hockey League champion Selkirk Fishermen 5-3. Damon Johnson, Brady Gregoire and Radek Merasty also scored for the Warriors. Beausejour fell 5-2 to the Arborg Ice Dawgs, Brady Bowes had both goals for the Comets.

The Portage Islanders, Warren Mercs and Notre Dame Hawks were winners in the SEMHL Saturday night. Tanner Lesann had a goal and three assists as Portage downed Carman 6-1 and improved to 10-0 on the season. Everett Bestland had the lone goal for the Beavers. Johnny Laza scored 45 seconds into overtime to lift Warren past Red River 5-4. TJ Matuszewski had two goals and an assist for the Wild who lead 4-0 early in the second period. Jeff Michiels scored 3:54 into overtime as Notre Dame shaded Ile des Chenes 5-4. Matthew Osadick had a goal and an assist for the Northstars.

The Brandon Wheat Kings fell 6-2 to the Raiders in Prince Albert. Nolan Ritchie and Nate Danielson with his 20th of the season scored for the Wheat Kings. Nicholas Jones stopped 21 shots.

The Manitoba Moose gave up four third period goals and lost 6-1 to the Belleville Senators. Kristian Reichel had the lone goal for the Moose.