Cole Plowman stopped 19 shots and Noah Szabo scored a pair of power play goals as the Steinbach Pistons shaded the Portage Terriers 2-1 at Stride Place. The defending Manitoba Junior Hockey League champions have won nine in a row. Raiden LeGall made 25 saves in Niverville’s 4-1 victory over Swan Valley. Josh Danis, Carter Spirig, Nathan Brown and Alex Walicki did the goal scoring for the Nighthawks.

Cole Topham had a hat trick as the defending Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League champion Steinbach Huskies defeated the Lorette Comets 10-2. Blues captain Felix Asselin scored his second goal of the game 66 seconds into overtime to lift Landmark past the Macdonald Swarm 4-3.

The St. Malo Warriors and Beausejour Comets were winners in the Capital Region Junior Hockey League. Teagan Fillion had two goals and two assists as the Warriors downed the Lundar Falcons 5-1. Aidan Avanthay had two goals and an assist and Dylan Liske made 39 saves as the Comets defeated the Arborg Ice Dawgs 4-1.

Steinbach Regional dropped a 6-3 decision to the St. Paul’s Crusaders. Carlos Penner, Ryder Chabot and Peyton Froese did the goal scoring for the Sabres. The SRSS has a 9-10 record in the Winnipeg High School Hockey League’s Platinum Promotions Division.

The Manitoba Moose lost 5-4 in overtime to the Grand Rapids Griffins at Canada Life Centre. Marco Casper scored 48 seconds into OT for the visitors. Thomas Caron, Nikita Chibrikov, C.J. Suess and Jeff Mallot did the goal scoring for the Moose who lead 3-1 and 4-2 at the period breaks.

Matt Dunstone and Kerri Einarson have qualified for the playoffs at the Grand Slam of Curling's Canadian Open in Red Deer. Dunstone will face Brendan Bottcher and Kerri Einarson will meet Satsuki Fujisawa in the quarterfinals. Jennifer Jones will take on Tabitha Peterson in a tie-breaker.