Steinbach Regional lost to the Lord Selkirk Royals in the final of the Varsity Girls Royal Rumble volleyball tournament. The host Royals defeated the Sabres 25-20, 25-20. The Steinbach Christian Flames lost to Miami in the final of the Morris Mavericks junior varsity boys volleyball tournament. The Marlins beat the Flames 19-25, 25-18, 15-8. Gabrielle Roy Les Roys and the Neelin Spartans won the Niverville Panthers junior varsity volleyball tournaments. Les Roys beat Steinbach Regional 25-16, 25-14 in the boys final while the Spartans downed Leo Remillard 25-19, 19-25, 15-11 in the girls final. Gabrielle Roy lost to Fort Richmond in the final of the Seven Oaks Invitational varsity girls volleyball tournament. The Centurions defeated Les Roy 27-26, 24-26, 15-11. Ecole St. Joachim Braves beat Miami 26-24, 25-18 in the final of the Treherne varsity girls volleyball tournament. 

The Winnipeg Jets won their pre-season opener Sunday night at Rogers Place. Cole Perfetti scored the only goal of the shootout as Winnipeg shaded Edmonton 2-1. Dominic Toninato scored the Jets lone goal in regulation. Winnipeg goaltender Collin Delia went the distance and stopped 37 shots as well as all three shootout attempts by the Oilers. The two teams wrap up their home-and-home tonight at Canada Life Centre. 

Two governors were re-elected, and one new governor was elected, to the Curling Canada Board of Governors, it was confirmed Saturday during the organization’s Annual General Meeting. The governing body for the sport of curling in Canada conducted its virtual AGM on Saturday, bringing together Canada’s 14 Member Associations along with invited guests to talk about the past season, as well as elect new members to the Board of Governors. There were three available spots after Roselle Gonsalves of Edmonton and Scott Hindle of Ottawa completed their terms, and Amy Nixon of Calgary departed the Board in July after voluntarily returning to the Board earlier in the season to help with on-boarding four new Governors. Both Gonsalves and Hindle ran for re-election and won four-year terms. Also, newcomer Jeremy Woo of Winnipeg was elected to a two-year term. Those three join fellow Governors Ray Baker of Dauphin, Man., Jennifer Howard of Courtice, Ont., Kathy O’Rourke of Cumberland, P.E.I., Darren Oryniak of Winnipeg, Teri Palynchuk of Nanaimo, B.C., Calvin Seaman of Calgary, and Michael Szajewski of Kenora, Ont. Szajewski was re-elected as Chair of the Board of Governors.

hockey_2023Gina Kingsbury, Billie Jean King, Jocelyne Larocque & Jayna Hefford (photo courtesy Jocelyne Larocque)

The inaugural Professional Women's Hockey League Draft was held last week. Jocelyne Larocque was selected second overall by Toronto and the Ste. Anne native will join Clayton Dreger on Sportsbeat which airs Mondays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 radio.