The Steinbach Regional varsity boys volleyball team saw their season come to an end Thursday night at Daniel McIntyre High School in Winnipeg. The Transcona Titans defeated the Sabres 25-22, 25-21, 25-22 and will face the South Central Athletic Conference champion Dakota Lancers in the quarterfinals of the Provincial AAAA High School Volleyball Championships. The SRSS varsity girls will meet the Vincent Massey Trojans in the quarterfinals Saturday afternoon at Sisler High School in Winnipeg.

It’s day two of the Provincial Junior Varsity High School Volleyball Championships. The AAAA championships are in Winnipeg. Steinbach Regional girls won their round robin opener over Sturgeon Heights and will meet the Vincent Massey Trojans and Brandon Vincent Massey today. Steinbach Regional boys went 3-0 in the round robin. The Sabres beat Dakota, Brandon Vincent Massey and Glenlawn. Gabreille Roy boys defeated Daniel McIntyre and will face Garden City and St. Paul’s. Niverville girls will meet St. Boniface and Niverville boys will take on Swan Valley. Those winners will advance to the quarterfinals at the AAA championships in Winnipeg. Gabrielle Roy has a 2-0 round robin record at the A/AA girls championship in Flin Flon. Green Valley is 0-2 at the A/AA boys championship in The Pas.

Riley Beauchemin scored the go-ahead goal at 11:38 of the third period as the Ile des Chenes Northstars slipped past the Morden Bombers 2-1 in the lone SEMHL game. Tyler Swerdyliak also scored for the Northstars who received a 49-save performance from Mason Swerdyliak. Mike Rey had the lone goal for the hometown Bombers.

Manitoba champion Derrick Anderson defeated Noel Herron of Ontario 7-3 in his first game of the double-knockout playoffs at the Canadian Curling Club Championship at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club in Winnipeg. Anderson will face Dan Sherrard of Alberta at 10 a.m. and that winner advances to the semifinals. Anderson, third Justin Hoplock, second Mitch Einarson and lead Chris Sigurdson finished the round robin with a 4-2 record. Manitoba champion Kara Balshaw won her playoff opener 9-1 over Carly Sandwith-Craig of British Columbia. Balshaw will face Abby Burgess of New Brunswick at 1:30 p.m. and that winner moves on to the semifinals. Balshaw, third Heather Carson, second Sandra Carson and lead Cathy Gingera finished the round robin with a 3-3 record.