Steinbach Regional will meet the College Jeanne-Sauve Olympiens tonight (6 p.m.) at Glenlawn Collegiate in Winnipeg in the South Central Athletic Conference AAAA varsity girls volleyball final. The Sabres defeated the J.H. Bruns Broncos 25-13, 25-11, 20-25, 25-8  in the semifinals Wednesday night in Steinbach. The Olympiens swept the Dakota Lancers 25-21, 25-11, 25-21 in the other semi. 

The Steinbach Regional High School Hockey Tournament takes places this weekend at the T.G. Smith Arena. Five teams are competing, and they include the Kelvin Clippers, Morris Mavericks, Fort Frances, St. Thomas Aquinas and the host Sabres. 

Brady Chambers and Michael Jette scored two goals each as the Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League leading Springfield Xtreme downed the Lorette Comets 6-4 Thursday night in Oakbank. Blake Gordichuk and Ky Stewart also scored for the Xtreme who improved to 7-0-1 on the season. Martin Waldner had two goals and an assist for the visiting Comets. Hunter Mangin and Liam Foster also scored for Lorette.

Niverville Nighthawks rookie goaltender Raiden LeGall has committed to play NCAA Division 1 hockey at Bemidji State University. The 17-year-old Morden native has started 11 games for the Nighthawks this Manitoba Junior Hockey League season, going 6-4-1-0 with a 2.35 goals against average, 0.933 save percentage and one shutout. The Bemidji State University Beavers play in the Central Collegiate Hockey Association.

Dan Taillefer scored the shootout winner as the Red River Wild edged the Morden Bombers 4-3 in the lone South Eastern Manitoba Hockey League game. The Wild erased a 3-1 third period deficit thanks to goals from Cody Siemens and Jared Magne. Paul Remillard also scored for Red River. Jessi Freund, Mike Rey and Thomas Stuart-Dant replied for the Bombers.

Winnipeg Blue Bombers running back Brady Oliveira is the CFL's Most Outstanding Canadian award winner. The Winnipeg native ran for a league high 1,534 yards and joined former Calgary Stampeders running back Jon Cornish as the only Canadian born players to reach the 1,500 milestone and 2,000 yards from scrimmage. He also led the league with seven 100-plus rushing yard games and set career-highs in receptions (38) and receiving yards (482). Oliveira was also in the running for Most Outstanding Player. That award went to Toronto Argonauts quarterback Chad Kelly. Toronto's Dejon Allen was named the Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman. Winnipeg's Jermarcus Hardrick was the West Division nominee. Ryan Dinwiddie of the Argos was named the Coach of the Year. Mike O'Shea of the Blue Bombers was the West finalist. The CFL awards were handed out last night in Niagara Falls. Winnipeg and Montreal meet Sunday in the 110th Grey Cup at Tim Hortons Field in Hamilton.

The 2023 Everest Canadian Curling Club Championships begin Sunday at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club in Winnipeg. Fourteen men's teams and 14 women's teams are slated to compete. The fields divided into two pools of seven teams and the women's will have one pool of seven and one pool of six. After the round robin, the top three teams in each pool will make a modified double-knockout playoffs, which begin Thursday, Nov. 23, and conclude with the gold- and bronze-medal games on Saturday, Nov. 25. Derrick Anderson of Gimli and Kara Balshaw of Winnipeg are representing Manitoba. The annual For the Love of Curling fundraising challenge to benefit youth curling across Canada will once again be a part of the 2023 Everest Canadian Curling Club Championships. Teams will be involved in fundraising, and the teams that raise the most money for junior curling will earn up to a $2,100 grant for their home clubs. The Canadian Curling Club Championships began in 2009 in Toronto. Since then, Ontario teams have won the men's title four times, while Alberta has three, B.C. and Saskatchewan have each claimed two titles and Newfoundland & Labrador and Nova Scotia each have one. On the women's side, Manitoba leads the way with four championships, followed by Ontario and Alberta with three apiece, and Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick and Northern Ontario with single championships.

htjhlThe Blues dropped a 5-2 decision to the Macdonald Swarm last Friday in Sanford

The Landmark Blues have three wins and four losses this season. Blues manager Dan Skjaerlund will join Clayton Dreger on the Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League Report which airs Fridays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.