Steinbach Regional has moved on to the Winnipeg High School Hockey League's Platinum Promotions Division quarterfinals. Preston Perreault scored twice and Lucas Jolicoeur had three assists as the SRSS defeated the Stonewall Rams 7-2 in Warren. Carson Funk, Ryder Chabot, Carlos Penner, Colton Wiebe and Peyton Froese also scored for the Sabres who swept the best-of three opening round series in two straight.

Noah Giesbrecht of Steinbach Regional has a 0-1 round robin record and Lauren Eveson of Gabrielle Roy is 1-1 heading into day two of the Provincial High School Curling Championships at the Heather Curling Club in Winnipeg. Giesbrecht, Brennan Doig, Parker Fast & Otto Goertzen lost 7-3 to Joshua Baker of Virden. Eveson, Mia Stewart, Brie Lambert & Amelie Beaudry defeated Arden Coughlan of College Jeanne-Sauve 10-8 and lost 9-8 to Lauren Weselak of Morden. The Provincial Mixed Doubles championship begins today at the Pembina Curling Club. Kelia Haskins & Jeremy vanDriel of Edward Schreyer School in Beausejour are representing Zone 13. Tia Plaetinck & Thomas Woloskoski of Whitemouth earned a wildcard spot.

Shaela Hayward of Carman will face Emma DeSchiffart of Alberta in the quarterfinals of the Canadian U18 Curling Championships in Ottawa. Hayward, Keira Krahn, India Young and Rylie Cox won their playoff opener 8-1 over Sarah Bergeron of Quebec Thursday night. Rylan Campbell, Logan Zacharias, Nick Senff and Rylan Graham of Altona lost 10-1 to Tyler MacTavish of Ontario in their playoff opener and will face Riley Winters of Northern Ontario in the Consolation B semifinals. Nash Sugden, Tyler Fehr, Tanner Treichel and Ryan Thiessen of Morden fell 6-4 to Mark Strang of Nova Scotia in their ranking game.

Eight 2-0 teams will be on the ice at 8:30 a.m. playing in “A” side qualifiers at the 2024 Viterra Provincial Men’s Curling Championship at Veterans Memorial Sports Complex in Stonewall. Justin Richter of Beausejour will meet Ryan Wiebe of Fort Rouge; Reid Carruthers of the Granite will face Riley Smith of Charleswood; Jordon McDonald of Assiniboine Memorial will take on clubmate Brett Walter and Braden Calvert of Fort Rouge will meet Greg Toduruk of Dauphin. The winners advance to the eight-team double-knockout playoff round. The losers will play in “B” side qualifiers at 4 p.m. Still alive on the “B” side are Justin Reynolds of Winnipeg Beach, Devon Wiebe of Charleswood, Logan Ede of Stonewall, Jeff Stewart of Gladstone, Hayden Forrester of Fort Rouge, Cale Dunbar of Brandon, Jace Freeman of Virden and Steve Irwin of Brandon.

The Winnipeg Jets gave up three first period goals and fell 4-1 to the Flyers in Philadelphia. Kyle Connor had the lone goal for the Jets who have lost five in a row and host the Pittsburgh Penguins on Saturday.

hockey_2023The Swarm will meet the Comets in round one of the HTJHL playoffs

The regular season schedule is over. Macdonald Swarm coach Darren Wiechern will join Clayton Dreger and discuss their opening round playoff series with the Lorette Comets on the Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League Report which airs Fridays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.