Sport Manitoba recognized remarkable athletic achievements at its Night of Champions Thursday in Winnipeg and celebrated the biggest achievements in sport made by Manitobans last year.

After years of missed games, cancelled tournaments, no high-fives or sideline cheers, Sport Manitoba honoured the sport community and delighted in stories of integrity, leadership, passion, and teamwork.

"Night of Champions embodies the heart and soul of Manitoba’s sport community," noted Janet McMahon, President and CEO, Sport Manitoba. "It celebrates passion, service, and excellence in sport, and saying thank you to those who have had a meaningful impact on the lives of Manitobans of all ages. Thank you to the event sponsors, volunteers, and hard-working staff. This event wouldn’t be possible without your support and dedication. Finally, a big congratulations to all the deserving nominees, award recipients, and Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame Inductees on your outstanding achievements and inspiring journeys in sport."

In addition to the athlete, team, coach, volunteer, and officials of the year awards, Sport Manitoba commemorated special achievements of those who’ve dedicated their lives to sport as the remaining members of the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020: Marilyn Fraser, Baxter Humby, Paul Robson, Ed Werenich, and Ruth Klassen were formally inducted. A special celebration was held for former Sport Manitoba President and CEO Jeff Hnatiuk, and the Manitoba Aboriginal Sports & Recreation Council awarded its coaches, athletes, and volunteers of the year.


Volunteer of the Year
Tony Staruch - Baseball - Winnipeg, Fort Richmond

Official of the Year
Richard Mason - Weightlifting - Winnipeg, River Park South

Junior Athlete of the Year
Mia West - Swimming - Winnipeg, River West Park

Junior Team of the Year
Westgate Wings - Volleyball - Winnipeg, West Broadway

Athlete of the Year
Desiree Scott - Soccer - Winnipeg, Jefferson

Team of the Year
Winnipeg Blue Bombers - Football

Peter Dick Award – School Systems
Tom Walls - Football - Oakbank

Vince Leah Memorial Award – Fundamentals
Yonatan Orlov - Baton Twirling - Winnipeg, St. Vital

Dr. Jack Hunt Award – Learn to Train
Reece Cretton - Hockey - Winnipeg, South Point Douglas

Janet Arnott Memorial Award – Train to Train
Juan Campuzano - Diving - Winnipeg, St. Vital

Peter Williamson Memorial Award – Train to Compete/Train to Win
Vlastimil Cerny - Swimming - Winnipeg, East Kildonan

Active for Life Award
David Simpson - Rugby - Narol


International Coach Recognition
Vlastimil Cerny (Swimming - Winnipeg, East Kildonan)
Cole Grant (Water Ski - Winnipeg, Southland Park)
Avril Hatherell (Archery - Winnipeg, St. Boniface)
Scott Koskie (Volleyball - Winnipeg, Southdale)
Larry McKay (Volleyball - Winnipeg)
Evan Pritchard (Racquetball - Winnipeg, Armstrong's Point)
Andy Tough (Athletics - Winnipeg, Whyte Ridge)


Years of Service - Coaches with 25 or more years of coaching
Scott Harland (Rugby - Winnipeg, Southdale)
Bob Isleifson (Special Olympics - 5 Pin Bowling - Brandon, MB)
Garry Ruff (Special Olympics - St. Andrews)


Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame Inductees
Marilyn Fraser, Builder, Athletics
(Winnipeg - North End)
Baxter Humby, Athlete, Muay Thai/Kickboxing
(Winnipeg, St. Vital / Brooklands)
Ruth Klassen, Athlete, Volleyball
(Winnipeg, North Kildonan)
Paul Robson, Builder, Multi-sport
(Winnipeg, River Heights)
Ed Werenich, Athlete, Curling


Manitoba Aboriginal Sports and Recreation Council Awards
Female Coach of the Year
Jill Fast - Football - Portage La Prairie

Male Coach of the Year
Kyle Prystupa - Hockey - Selkirk

Female Athlete of the Year
Jocelyne Larocque - Hockey - Ste. Anne

Male Athlete of the Year
Pine Creek Warriors - Basketball - Pine Creek First Nation

Female Volunteer of the Year
Jennifer Chartrand - Basketball - Pine Creek First Nation

Male Volunteer of the Year
Kendall Robinson - Multi-sport - Cross Lake First Nation


Sport Manitoba Night of Champions winners bios