Author: AM 1250/Mix 96
Michael Booth of Winnipeg and Jaydene Reardon of Canton, Georgia were winners of the 28th annual Manitoba Marathon. Booth successfully defended his title with a time of 2:31:54. Dane Samuels of Brandon was second in 2:38:53. Reardon, who was competing in her first marathon, finished in 3:04:08. She was 31 seconds ahead of 2004 champion Harmony Holland of Bradenton, Florida. Brandon's Kathy Palmer was third. Keith Berard of Blumenort finished in 11th place with a time of 2:58:48.  Robert Davey of Niverville was 3:20:05, Barry Penner of Kleefeld was 3:24:29 and Steffen Reimer of Steinbach finished in a time of 3:26:16. A record 12,715 people competed in several different events, including the wheelchair, full and half marathons, a team relay and 10-kilometre walk.