Beck Liden stopped 45 of the 46 shots he faced as the defending Manitoba Junior Hockey League champion Steinbach Pistons defeated the Selkirk Steelers 4-1. Leo Chambers, Brett Kaiser, Samuel Noad and Trey Sauder did the goal scoring for the visiting Pistons who won their 35th game of the season. 

Steinbach Regional face the Stonewall Rams today in game one of the Winnipeg High School Hockey League's best-of-three Platinum Promotions Division opening round series. The opening face-off at the T.G. Smith Arena is 4 p.m. Game two goes Thursday in Warren. Game three if necessary is back at the T.G. Smith Arena on Friday. 

The 2023-24 South Eastern Manitoba Hockey League's regular season schedule came to an end Tuesday night in Notre Dame. Gavin Froese scored twice and Daniel Taillefer had a goal and two assists as Red River defeated the Hawks 5-3. Drayden Kurbatoff and Riley Hunter also scored for the Wild. Richard Lesage had a pair of goals for Notre Dame. Jeff Michiels had the other Hawks goal. The best-of-five quarterfinal series feature the defending champion Ste. Anne Aces against the Ile des Chenes Northstars, the Warren Mercs meet Notre Dame, Red River will take on the Winkler Royals and the Portage Islanders face the Morden Bombers. 

The Winnipeg Jets fell 3-0 to the Pittsburgh Penguins in their first game back from the NHL All-Star break. Tristan Jarry made 23 saves in recording his league leading sixth shutout of the season. The Jets, who have lost a season-high four straight games, face the Flyers in Philadelphia on Thursday. 

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers signed running back Brady Oliveira to a two-year contract and receiver Dalton Schoen to a one-year deal. Both players were scheduled to become free agents on February 13th. Oliveira rushed for over 1,500 yards and 13 touchdowns and was named the CFL's Outstanding Canadian in 2023. The 26-year-old Winnipeg native recorded 2,014 all-purpose yards. Schoen is coming off his second consecutive 1,000-yard season. The 27-year-old Overland Park, Kansas native had 71 receptions and 10 touchdowns in 2023. He was the CFL's Most Outstanding Rookie in 2022. 

The 2024 Viterra Provincial Men's Curling Championship begins today at the Veterans Memorial Sports Complex in Stonewall. The top five seeds are Reid Carruthers of the Granite, Ryan Wiebe & Braden Calvert of Fort Rouge and Jordon McDonald & Brett Walter of Assiniboine Memorial. Sunday's winner will represent our province at the Brier in Regina in early March, joining the reigning Manitoba champion Matt Dunstone team (CTRS #4) who have already pre-qualified.

Shaela Hayward of Carman has a 4-1 round robin record; Rylan Campbell of Altona is 3-2 and Nash Sugden of Morden is 2-3 at the Canadian U18 Curling Championships in Ottawa. Team Hayward defeated Cassidy Blades of Nova Scotia 6-3.Team Campbell downed Riley Winters of Northern Ontario 10-2 in six ends and Team Sugden beat Kaiden Beck of British Columbia 7-4.

hockey_2023Carson Bjarnason made 39 saves in the Wheat Kings 4-1 victory over the Rebels last Friday (photo courtesy scramble studio/

The Brandon Wheat Kings faced the Red Deer Rebels, Swift Current Broncos and Saskatoon Blades this past weekend. Wheat Kings head coach Marty Murray will join Clayton Dreger on Sportsbeat which airs Wednesdays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.