The Winnipeg Blue Bombers reign as Grey Cup champions came to an end Sunday night in Regina. Toronto defensive lineman Robbie Smith blocked Marc Liegghio’s 47-yard field goal attempt with 54 seconds left as the Argos held on for a 24-23 victory over the Bombers in the 109th Grey Cup. Dakota Prukop had two touchdowns on one-yard quarterback sneaks for Winnipeg and Janarion Grant had a 102-yard punt return for a major.

The Ste. Anne Aces and Ile des Chenes Northstars were winners in the South Eastern Manitoba Hockey League Sunday. Owen Blocker scored four times and Brendan Walker had two goals and five assists as the Aces downed the Carman Beavers 13-2. Justin Tremblay scored the shootout winner as the Northstars edged the Morden Bombers 3-2.

Teo Lambert scored four times as the Niverville Clippers beat the Landmark Blues 7-2 in the lone Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League game. Will Klippenstein, Deklan Wiebe and Elijah Durksen also scored for the Clippers. Jackson Reimer and Brandon Slobozian replied for the Blues.

Manitoba champions Judy Colwell earned silver and Murray Warren won bronze Sunday at the Canadian Masters Curling Championship at the Pembina Curling Club in Winnipeg. Colwell dropped an 8-4 decision to Penny Shantz of BC in the women’s gold medal game. Warren beat Wes Craig of BC 7-4 in the men’s third place game. Al Hackner of Northern Ontario defeated Gord Bell of Saskatchewan 7-6 in the men’s gold medal game.

Canadian Adam Svensson won the RSM Classic at St. Simons Island, Georgia. The Surrey, BC native fired a final round six under par 64 Sunday to earn his first PGA Tour title.


The Eastman Selects played a home-and-home against the Pembina Valley Hawks this past weekend. Head coach Dwight Hirst will join Barry Lamb on the Selects Report which airs Mondays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.