The Steinbach Huskies, Niverville Clippers and Springfield Xtreme were winners in the Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League Sunday night. Brandon Thiessen scored twice and Ethan Unger had a goal and three assists as the first place Huskies downed the Macdonald Swarm 5-2 in Sanford. Ian Friesen and Darius Morrow also scored for Steinbach. Logan Erb and Dane Martinussen replied for the Swarm. Derek Plett scored twice as the hometown Clippers beat the Lorette Comets 5-2. Logan Unger, Teo Lambert and Jaxsen Friesen also scored for Niverville. Ben Grift and Tyler Van de Velde did the goal scoring for the defending champion Comets. Samuel Sass and Evan Veinot both had a goal and an assist as the Xtreme edged Red River 2-1 in St. Jean. Andrew Dyck had the lone goal for the Mudbugs. 

Landon Roberts, Ty Paisley, Neo Kiemeney, Davis Fry and Ian Amsbaugh scored first period goals as the Steinbach Pistons downed the Virden Oil Capitals 7-1 at the T.G. Smith Centre. Amsbaugh added his 8th of the season five minutes into the third period. Dawson Milliken also scored for the Pistons.

The Ile des Chenes Northstars scored nine second period goals en route to a 15-0 victory over the Carman Beavers in the lone SEMHL game. Riley Beauchemin, Thomas Freeman and Josh Beauchemin each had a hat trick for the Northstars. TJ Romanishen added a pair of goals for Ile des Chenes and the rest went to Justin Dumontier, Tyler Swerdyliak, Justin Engel and Derik Cook. Mason Swerdyliak made 12 saves in recording the shutout. Beavers netminder Martin Gagnon faced 54 shots.

Morgan Barron and Mark Scheifele scored 49 seconds apart in the third period as the Winnipeg Jets rallied from a 2-0 deficit and beat the Anaheim Ducks 5-2 at Canada Life Centre. Nate Schmidt, Saku Maenalanen and Dylan Samberg with his first career NHL goal also scored for the Jets. Adam Lowry had two assists and Connor Hellebuyck made 28 saves. 

The Provincial AAAA high school varsity volleyball championship games take place tonight at the University of Manitoba's Investors Group Athletic Centre in Winnipeg. Steinbach Regional will meet the St. Paul's Crusaders in the boys final at 8 p.m. while the Vincent Massey Trojans will take on the Sturgeon Heights Huskies in the girls final at 6 p.m.

The semifinals are set at the DEKALB Superspiel in Morris. Matt Dunstone will meet Ryan Wiebe and Reid Carruthers will take on John Shuster of Duluth in the men's semifinals. Jennifer Jones will face Nancy Martin of Saskatoon and Abby Ackland will meet Clancy Grandy of Vancouver in the women's semis. All four games begin at 8 a.m. The finals are scheduled for 11 a.m.

Manitoba champions Randy Neufeld and Terry Ursel play their opening games today at the 2022 Canadian Senior Curling Championships in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. Neufeld will meet James Pahl of Alberta and Ursel will face Jo-Ann Rizzo of Ontario. 


The Eastman Selects are in the middle of a 10-day break after beating the Thistles 3-2 last Wednesday in Kenora. Head coach Dwight Hirst will join Clayton Dreger on the Selects Report which airs Mondays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.