The Red River Mudbugs will face the Steinbach Huskies in the Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League final. Braden Hildebrand scored his second goal of the game 17:11 into overtime to lift the Mudbugs past the Springfield Xtreme 5-4 in the seventh and deciding game of their semifinal in St. Jean. Andrew Dyck, Bryson Loewen and Dawson Friesen also scored for Red River. Samuel Sass, Michael Jette, Brady Chambers and Kai Orchard replied for the Xtreme who had a 3-1 series lead. Game one of the HTJHL final between the Huskies and Mudbugs is scheduled for Wednesday at the T.G. Smith Centre.

The St. Malo Warriors dropped a 5-2 decision to Arborg. Jake Plett had a goal and two assists for the Ice Dawgs who lead the Capital Region Junior Hockey League's best-of-seven semifinal three games to two. Ashton Dubois and Kaden Rioux did the goal scoring for the Warriors. 

The Niverville Nighthawks are playoff bound in their inaugural Manitoba Junior Hockey League season. The Nighthawks clinched the fourth and final playoff spot in the East Division when the Selkirk Steelers lost 6-2 to the Oil Capitals in Virden Sunday night. 

Reed Peters stopped 35 shots as the Morden Bombers blanked the Ste. Anne Aces 4-0 and now lead the South Eastern Manitoba Hockey League's best-of-seven final two games to none. Jay Fehr, Keane Boucher, Adam Hughesman and Tyler Peers did the goal scoring for the Bombers. Game three goes Wednesday in Morden.

Zack Ostapchuk had a goal and two assists and Daniel Hauser made 30 saves as the Winnipeg Ice defeated Brandon 4-1. Nate Danielson had the lone goal for the Wheat Kings. Brandon, Calgary and Swift Current have 60 points each and are tied for the 8th and final playoff spot in the Western Hockey League's Eastern Conference. The Wheat Kings have five games remaining, the Hitmen have seven and the Broncos have six left.

Connor Hellebuyck made 33 saves as Winnipeg shaded the Tampa Bay Lightning 3-2. Nate Schmidt, Nino Niederreiter and Morgan Barron did the goal scoring for the Jets who face the Carolina Hurricanes in Raleigh on Tuesday. 

The Manitoba Moose lost 4-2 to Iowa. Adam Beckman had a pair of third period goals for the Wild. Tyler Boland and Greg Meireles replied for the Moose who lead 2-0 with five minutes left in the second period.

Brad Gushue is a five-time Brier champion. defeated Matt Dunstone 7-5 in the final of the Canadian Men's Curling Championship in London, Ontario. Gushue, Mark Nichols E.J. Harnden and Geoff Walker will represent Canada at the 2023 World Men’s Curling Championship next month in Ottawa. Dunstone, B.J. Neufeld, Colton Lott and Ryan Harnden beat Brendan Bottcher 7-5 in the semifinals.

Laurie Deprez of La Salle captured the Manitoba Master Women’s Curling Championship. Deprez, Deb McCreanor, Lori Pelissier, and Bev Atkins defeated Sandra Cowling of Hamiota 5-3 in the Sunday morning final in Thompson.


The host Habs won bronze at Hockey Manitoba's Provincial U18 Rural A/B ChampionshipThe host Habs won bronze at Hockey Manitoba's Provincial U18 Rural A/B Championship

Hockey Manitoba's Provincial 18 Rural A/B Championship was held in La Broquerie. Host committee chair Steve Hildebrand will join Clayton Dreger on the Sportsbeat which airs Mondays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio,