For the third time in his career, offensive lineman Obby Khan has been named the recipient of the Cal Murphy ‘Heart of a Legend’ Award which goes to the Blue Bomber player who best demonstrates outstanding sportsmanship and dedication to the CFL and community and is voted on by the players.  The winner of this award is also the team’s nominee for the prestigious Tom Pate Memorial Award, which is presented annually by the CFL.

Khan is very active in the community throughout the year, in particular with Project Echo – a fundraising group started by himself, Manitoba Bisons linebacker Thomas Hall and friend Jeff Fisher.  The goal of Project Echo is to improve the lives of Winnipeggers in need through the coordination of fundraisers and volunteerism and by creating a network of empathetic citizens committed to making a difference.

Project Echo has held various events over the past year including a celebrity poker tournament, which helped raise funds for orphaned children in Namibia, Africa, as well as Sam’s Christmas, which provides disadvantaged families with a Christmas to remember.  Last year, Project Echo successfully realized their goal of giving twenty Winnipeg families hot turkey dinners and desserts, blankets, personalized gifts and desktop computers among many other things.  This year, they have drastically increased the number of families who will receive support to 100.

Apart from Project Echo, Khan is also very involved with the Crohns and Colitis Foundation which is very close to his heart after battling through the illness in 2007.  He sits on the planning committee of the SMD Foundation, as well as volunteers his time with Variety, the Children’s Charity of Manitoba and the Children’s Hospital Foundation.

Khan is in his eighth year in the CFL and sixth with the Blue Bombers.  He was also recognized for this award in 2008 and 2009.

Past Heart of a Legend Award Winners:
2010 – LaVar Glover
2009 – Obby Khan
2008 – Obby Khan
2007 – Milt Stegall
2006 – Milt Stegall
2005 – Matt Sheridan
2004 – Moe Elewonibi
2003 – Khari Jones
2002 – Moe Elewonibi
2001 – Dave Mudge

photo courtesy Merle Peters