The Montreal Alouettes are Grey Cup champions for the first time since 2010. Cody Fajardo threw three touchdown passes including a 19-yarder to Tyson Philipot with 13 seconds left as the Alouettes defeated the Winnipeg Blue Bombers 28-24 in the 110th Grey Cup in Hamilton. Back-up quarterback Dakota Prukop had two short touchdown runs for the Bombers. Running back Brady Oliviera ran for 120 yards and had Winnipeg’s other major. The Blue Bombers have now lost back-to-back Grey Cup games after winning in 2019 and 2021.

All four Steinbach Regional volleyball teams will play in the Provincial AAAA High School Championships. The SRSS varsity boys and varsity girls along with the junior varsity boys earned wildcard spots. The Sabres captured the South Central Athletic Conference junior varsity girls championship last week.

The Zone 13 varsity AAA volleyball championships takes place tonight in Beausejour. Steinbach Christian boys and Niverville girls will meet Edward Schreyer.

Kailen Penner scored the shootout winner as the defending Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League champion Steinbach Huskies shaded the Niverville Clippers 3-2. Cole Topham and Ethan Plett also scored for the Huskies. Dylan Peters and Aiden Bloomfield replied for the Clippers. Bloomfield’s power play marker with 3:37 left in regulation tied the game at 2-2.

Ginger Fast and Cheyenne Scott Cooke did the goal scoring in the Eastman Selects 2-1 victory over the Pembina Valley Hawks in Morden. Eastman’s Addison Tomes made 29 saves.

Keith Grondin had two goals and two assists as the Winkler Royals downed the Carman Beavers 6-2 in the lone SEMHL game. Marlin Froese, Aaron Lewadniuk, Cody Friesen and Remi Laurencelle also scored for the Royals who lead 2-1 and 4-1 at the period breaks. Ben Dalke and Fraser Mirlees replied for the Beavers.

C.J. Suess had a goal and an assist and Collin Delia stopped 24 shots as the Manitoba Moose downed the Toronto Marlies 4-2. Nicholas Jones, Brad Lambert and Nikita Chibrikov also scored for the Moose.

Kara Balshaw won her opening game 7-2 over Jennifer Taylor of Newfoundland & Labrador at the Canadian Curling Club Championship at the Assiniboine Memorial Curling Club in Winnipeg. Derrick Anderson will play his opener today against Terry Miller of Yukon.