larocque olympics


The Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association has announced the finalists for the selection of the Manitoba Team of the Year and Athletes of the Year for 2014.


The University of Manitoba has finalists in all three categories, and two in the team bracket. All-Canadian stars Taylor Pischke in women's volleyball and Nic Demski in football are nominated for Female and Male Athletes of the Year, while the Manitoba Bison national champions in  women's volleyball and men's golf are up for consideration as the province's Team of the Year.


Pischke, who sparked the Bisons to a seventh CIS title, is opposed on the final ballot to be cast by the Manitoba sports media by another volleyball standout in UBC's Lisa Barclay, the CIS women's volleyball Player of the Year who is nominated for a second straight year; Jennifer Saunders, who set a women's racquetball record by winning her eighth national singles title; Mandy Marchuk, a member of Canada's silver medalist women's World Cup rugby team; and Jocelyn Larocque, a defensive star on Canada's gold medal winning women's hockey team at the Winter Olympics.


piscke vb dec12


Also on the male ballot against Demski, who is the first Bison football player to be named on four CIS all-Canadian teams, is the 2007 and 2013 Male Athlete winner Jonathan Toews of Chicago Blackhawks, who scored the winning goal in Canada's gold medal victory over Sweden; Olympic curling gold medalist Ryan Fry, the outstanding third on the Brad Jacobs team; Basketball Manitoba's Male Athlete of the Year William Kohler; and Bret Thompson, chosen as the provincial amateur golfer of the year for 2014 by Golf Manitoba.


Two curling teams have been nominated to oppose the Bison women's volleyball and golf squads, the Jennifer Jones Olympic women's gold medalists at the Winter Games in Sochi, and Mike McEwen's foursome that captured an exceptional six titles and posted 45 victories in seven events entered through mid-December on this season's curling tour.  The Jones quartette won the Manitoba team award for 2013.  The fifth team finalist this year is the  Team Manitoba under-17 male basketball gold medalists, a first time achievement for  this province.


bisons vb dec12


As a result of final voting, the winners will be declared at the 59th annual Athletes of the Year awards dinner on Sunday, January 25th, 2015, at the Delta Winnipeg Hotel.


Among the MSSA awards to be presented at the dinner are the Cactus Jack Wells Memorial trophy, to recognize the event or individual creating a major impact on the Manitoba sports scene; the Dallis Beck Memorial Good Guy award to an individual providing excellent support to the sports media; and the Jack Matheson Memorial awards to post secondary students interested in a career in sports journalism or sports public relations.


In addition, former Manitoba sportswriter Patti Dawn Swansson, and CKLQ Brandon sports director Bruce Luebke will be inducted into the MSSA Media Roll of Honour for their outstanding service to sports journalism.  Volleyball coaches Garth Pischke and Ken Bentley of the University of Manitoba will receive special achievement awards, and former CBC sportscaster Ernie Nairn will receive the MSSA longtime recognition award.


bisons golf dec12


Jocelyne Larocque photo by Ray Peters

Volleyball & Golf photos courtesy University of Manitoba

More Sports News

Four In A Row For The Ste. Anne Aces

For the fourth year in a row, the Ste. Anne Aces are Carillon Senior Hockey League champions after an emotional thriller Sunday night in Grunthal. Similar to last year, it was an overtime winner that…

Niverville Clippers AA Provincial Champions

The Niverville Atom A hockey team capped off a terrific season by winning the Provincial Atom AA title in Portage La Prairie last weekend. The Clippers went into the tournament white hot finishing…

Pistons Fall In Overtime - Series Tied 1-1

The Steinbach Pistons battled hard but fell in overtime to the Swan Valley Stampeders on Saturday night as the best of seven series switches back to Steinbach all tied up at 1-1. Powerful Power-Plays…

Pistons Storm Back Against Stampeders - Lead Series 1-0

A pair of third-period goals propelled the Steinbach Pistons in game one of their second-round series vs the Swan Valley Stampeders. Slowly Gettin' Goin' Steinbach had the travel day and Swan had…

Millers Atom B Provincial Champions

Front Row: Vaughn Penner, Aidan Stepaniuk, Will Mateychuk, Jett Bueckert & Jimmy WilcoxMiddle Row: Jackson Ackland, Robert Banman, Easton Klassen, Dean Friesen, Liam Paton, Maximus Bergen & Ty…

Aces Take Game Five

The Ste. Anne Aces are one win away from capturing a fourth straight Carillon Senior Hockey League title. Guy St. Vincent made 43 saves and Brenden Walker had a pair of assists as the Aces defeated…

Red Wings Capture Provincial U19B Ringette Championship

Grunthal Red Wings - Provincial U19B ChampionsFront row: Sydney Brown, Sylvie Chaput, Gillian Lambert, Kayla Friesen, Hayley Rempel, Kendra Wiens & Cassidy DriedgerBack row: coach Glenn Friesen,…

Playoff Preview: Round 2 - Steinbach Vs Swan Valley

The Steinbach Pistons moved on to round 2 of the MJHL playoffs after a thrilling, hard-fought series vs the Winnipeg Blues. The Pistons now take on Swan Valley who finished 2nd in the leauge. The…

Habs Win Eastman Pee Wee C Title

The La Broquerie Habs are the Eastman Minor Hockey League's Pee Wee C champions. The Habs swept the Niverville/St. Agathe Clippers in two straight in the best-of-three final winning both games by…

Kilroy The Overtime Hero, Pistons Eliminate Blues - Win Series 4-2

Jack Kilroy scored with 9:36 remaining in double overtime as the Steinbach Pistons defeated the Winnipeg Blues 4-3, eliminating the Blues 4-2 in round one of the MJHL playoffs. Battling Blue And…

Eastman Bantam AAA Selects The Best In Manitoba

The Eastman Selects defeated the Winnipeg Monarchs 2-1 in a best of three series to win the AAA Bantam Provincial Championship in Landmark over the weekend. Down But Not Out After falling in game on…

Panthers Win Gold & Bronze at Ringette Provincials

Steinbach Panthers - Provincial U16B ChampionsBack row: Gaby Lambert & Dakota Gigolyk3rd row: Angeleah Goertzen, Brittney Dueck, Mackenzie Poetker, Jorja Wynn, Kris Lazaruk, Robin Freund & coach… is Steinbach's only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.

Monday, March 25th

Red River vs Springfield
@ St. Jean, 8 p.m.
(Mudbugs lead best of 7 final 3-1)

Manitoba AAA Midget Hockey League
Brandon at Wpg Wild, 7 p.m.
(best of 5 final tied 1-1)

Florida at Toronto, 6 p.m.
Buffalo at New Jersey, 6 p.m.
Pittsburgh at N.Y. Rangers, 6 p.m.
Boston at Tampa Bay, 6:30 p.m.
Dallas at Winnipeg, 7 p.m.
Nashville at Minnesota, 7 p.m.
Vegas at St. Louis, 7 p.m.
Los Angeles at Calgary, 8 p.m.
Detroit at San Jose, 9:30 p.m.

Philadelphia at Orlando, 6 p.m.
Oklahoma City at Memphis, 7 p.m.
Phoenix at Utah, 8 p.m.
Brooklyn at Portland, 9 p.m.

Sunday, March 24th

Ste. Anne 6 Grunthal 5 (OT)
(Aces win best of 7 final 4-2)

Portage 5 Virden 2
(Terriers lead best of 7 semifinal 2-0)

Washington 3 Philadelphia 1
N.Y. Islanders 2 Arizona 0
Carolina 2 Montreal 1 (OT)
Chicago 2 Colorado 1 (OT)
Columbus 5 Vancouver 0

Charlotte 115 Toronto 114
L.A. Clippers 124 New York 113
Milwaukee 127 Cleveland 105
Indiana 124 Denver 88
Houston 113 New Orleans 90
San Antonio 115 Boston 96
Golden State 121 Detroit 114
L.A. Lakers 111 Sacramento 106