Kerri Einarson, Val Sweeting, Shannon Birchard and Briane Meilleur are Canadian women's curling champions for the third straight year. The Gimli Curling Club foursome defeated Krista McCarville of Northern Ontario 9-6 in the final of the 2022 Scotties Tournament of Hearts in Thunder Bay. Einarson joins Jennifer Jones of Manitoba (2008, 2009, 2010) and Saskatchewan’s Vera Pezer (1971, 1972, 1973) as other skips with at least three consecutive championships. Colleen Jones of Nova Scotia (2001, 2002, 2003, 2004) won four in a row. Einarson, Sweeting, Birchard and Meilleur will represent Canada at the 2022 World Women's Curling Championship in Prince George, B.C. from March 19th-27th.


Bromont, Quebec's Max Parrot captured Canada's first gold medal at the Winter Games in Beijing. Parrot finished first in men's snowboard slopestyle. Regina's Mark McMorris won bronze. Speedskater Kim Boutin of Sherbrooke captured bronze in the 500 meter short track event and Canada won bronze in mixed team ski jumping. Canada's medal count is six with one gold, one silver and four bronze. John Morris & Rachel Homan failed to qualify for the playoffs in Mixed Doubles Curling. Morris & Homan lost 8-7 in a extra end to Italy's Stefania Constantini & Amos Mosaner and finished the round robin with a 5-4 record. Sarah Nurse and Sarah Fillier scored 20 seconds apart early in the first period as Canada's women's hockey team defeated the Russian Olympic Committee 6-1 and improved to 3-0. Marie-Philip Poulin, Rebecca Johnston and Jamie Lee Rattray scored power play goals for the Canadians who will play their preliminary round finale tonight against the United States.


The Hanover Tache Junior Hockey League's regular season schedule is over. There were two games on Sunday night. Matt Gagliardi and Devon Weimer each had a goal and an assist as Springfield downed Steinbach 5-2. Brady Chambers, Nicolas Daymond and Quinn Keller also scored for the Xtreme. Brandon Thiessen had both goals for the Huskies. Eric Bossuyt scored 4:15 into overtime to lift Macdonald past Niverville 4-3. Griffin Campbell had a pair of goals in regulation for the Swarm. The other went to Zach Windsor. Elijah Durksen scored twice for the Clippers and drew an assist on Jaxsen Friesen's goal. The first place Lorette Comets and second place Xtreme have a bye to the semifinals. Steinbach will meet Macdonald and the Red River Mudbugs will take on Niverville in the opening round of the playoffs.


The St. Malo Warriors gave up three goals in the first period and four in the second and lost 9-2 to the Ice Dawgs in Arborg. Brendan Spence and Mitchell Penner did the goal scoring for the Warriors.


Luke Mistelbacher and Isaac Gordon scored two goals each and Andrew Blahy made 38 saves as the Eastman Selects defeated the Wheat Kings 4-2 in Brandon. Mistelbacher scored shorthanded in the first period and sealed the deal with an empty net goal at 18:45 of the third period after the Wheat Kings cut Eastman's lead to 3-2 early in the final frame. Gordon scored his two goals 34 seconds apart early in the middle period.


Leon Gawanke scored in the 12th round of the shootout to lift the Manitoba Moose past the Texas Stars 2-1 at Canada Life Centre. Mikey Eyssimont scored in regulation for the Moose. Manitoba goaltender Mikhail Berdin made 31 saves.