Matthew Thiessen of the Minnesota-Duluth Bulldogs is a National Collegiate Hockey Conference Player of the Week. The former Steinbach Pistons goaltender was called into action off the bench last weekend against then-No. 6 Minnesota and delivered with two strong performances. On Friday, he entered for the final 9:51 of the game on the road in Minneapolis after a Zach Stejskal injury, making eight saves and allowing no goals. The next night, Thiessen started and made a career-high 47 saves in a 3-3 overtime tie, including five in overtime and several highlight-reel stops. The Vancouver Canucks draft pick also denied both shots he faced in the ensuing shootout as UMD topped the Gophers in the shootout. Thiessen finished the series with 55 saves and a .948 save percentage, while posting a 2.40 goals-against average. In doing so, he upped his season save percentage to .891 and lowered his season GAA to 3.44 in four outings (1-1-1 record).

Team Manitoba finished the preliminary round with an 0-3 record after dropping a 4-3 decision to Ontario Blue at the 2023 National U18 Women's Hockey Championship in Dawson Creek. Stephanie Jacob of East St. Paul, Sara Manness of La Salle and Mia Faseruk of West St. Paul scored for our province. Team Manitoba will meet Quebec in the quarterfinals on Thursday.

The line of Kyle Connor, Mark Scheifele and Alex Iafallo combined for 10 points as the Winnipeg Jets wrapped up their three-game road trip with a 5-2 victory over the St. Louis Blues. Connor had two goals and an assist, Scheifele had a goal and two assists while Iafallo chipped in with four helpers. Neal Pionk and Cole Perfetti also scored for the Jets. Winnipeg's Connor Hellebuyck made 20 saves. The Jets, who are 5-1-2 in their past eight games, begin a five-game homestand Thursday night when they entertain the Nashville Predators. 

Kyle Kurz, Melissa Gordon, Ian McMillan and Beth Peterson are perfect heading into day four of the Canadian Mixed Curling Championship in Swift Current. The Manitoba champions defeated Jamie Koe of Northwest Territories 9-4 in a battle of undefeated teams. Team Kurz is 4-0 and will play their final two round robin games in Pool B today against Evan Van Amsterdam of Alberta and Cameron de Jong of British Columbia. 

baseball_2023The Manitoba Junior Baseball League All-Stars won gold at the 2010 Nationals in Trois Rivieres, Quebec. Back Row: Mark Hildebrand, Dale Fehr, Josh Ginter, Eliot Desilets, Jesse Grant, Justin Pasichnyk, Neil Walton & Brendan Johnson.  Front Row: former MJBL president Scott Neiles, assistant coach Brent Laverty, Chef des Mission Glen Hunter, head coach Jamie Bettens & Anthony Friesen (photo courtesy Baseball Manitoba)

The Manitoba Junior Baseball League All-Stars, who won gold at the 2010 Nationals in Trois Rivieres, will be inducted into the Manitoba Baseball Hall of Fame next June. Head coach Jamie Bettens will join Clayton Dreger and reflect on that gold medal winning team on Sportsbeat which airs Wednesdays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.