The Manitoba High Schools Athletic Association will announce the recipients of the Athlete of the Year Awards from each classification (A, AA, AAA, AAAA), along with the overall High School Male and Female Athlete of the Year today at noon at the Sport Manitoba Building in downtown Winnipeg.

The Carillon Sultans dropped a 7-3 decision to the defending Manitoba Junior Baseball League champion Elmwood Giants Tuesday night at A.D. Penner Park in Steinbach. Carson Woytowich had two hits, two rbi and scored two runs for the Giants. Linden Meilleur had two hits and drove in a pair of runs for the Sultans. Austin Friesen took the loss. He went six innings and allowed six hits, struck out seven, walked six and gave up six earned runs. Carillon will travel to Charleswood Park on Thursday night. The Sultans and Winnipeg South Wolves will finish their suspended game from May 25th that was tied 11-11 and called due to darkness. The two teams will then play a doubleheader.

Reggie Pruitt Jr. drilled an opposite-field grand slam home run in the bottom of the fourth inning as the Winnipeg Goldeyes downed the Fargo-Moorhead Redhawks 6-4. The Fish have won a season high six games in a row.

The Kamloops Blazers were double winners when the Canadian Hockey League revealed its 2021-2022 award recipients Tuesday night in Saint John, New Brunswick. Logan Stankoven was named the David Branch Player of the Year, while teammate Dylan Garand was named Goaltender of the Year. Nathan Staios of the Hamilton Bulldogs was named the Defenceman of the Year. Jim Hulton of the Charlottetown Islanders was named the Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year. 

Golf Canada has announced that many of the world’s top players have committed to compete in the celebrated return of the 2022 CP Women’s Open from August 22-28 at Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club. Leading the charge is defending champion Jin Young Ko, currently ranked no. 1 in the world and no. 9 on the current LPGA Tour Money List, who won in 2019—more than 1,000 days ago—prior to the past two of cancellation due the global pandemic. Local favourite and 11-time LPGA Tour winner Brooke Henderson of Smiths Falls, Ont., an honorary member of Ottawa Hunt currently ranked no. 10 on the LPGA Tour money list, will join Ko in leading a field of early commitments that include 16 of the top 20 players on the current LPGA Tour money list (10 of the top-10 & 41 of the top-50), seven past CP Women’s Open championships, and 11 in year winners including all 2022 Major winners. Canadian golf legend Lorie Kane of Charlottetown, a member of the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame, Order of Canada, and recent inductee into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame, will compete in her record 30th CP Women’s Open. A four-time winner on the LPGA Tour, Kane has confirmed that the 2022 event will be her final playing appearance in Canada’s National Women’s Open Championship. Ko and Henderson, will be among 16 of the current top-20 players (10 of top-10 / 41 of top-50) on the 2022 LPGA Money List confirmed for Ottawa Hunt including Minjee Lee (1), In Gee Chun (2), Lexi Thompson (3), Jennifer Kupcho (4), Hye-Jin Choi (5), Lydia Ko (6), Atthya Thitikul (7), Mina Harigae (8), Nasa Hataoka (11), Jessica Korda (13), Hyo Joo Kim (14), Celine Boutier (16), Xiyo Lin (17), Eun-Hee Ji (19), and Madelene Sagstrom (20).