Canada opened the NORCECA Senior Women's Volleyball Continental Championship with a straight sets victory over Mexico in Quebec City. Canada defeated Mexico 25-20, 25-18, 25-20 and will face Puerto Rico tonight. Outside hitter Kiera Van Ryk of New Westminster led the Canadian sweep in the 69-minute match with 12 points, 11 attacks and one block.

Tommy McCarthy and Chris Burgess homered in the Winnipeg Goldeyes 11-9 victory over the Canaries in Sioux Falls. Winnipeg starter Landen Bourassa (11-5) is the first pitcher to reach 11 wins in the American Association this season. The Lethbridge native has won his last seven appearances.

The Professional Women's Hockey League will begin its inaugural season in January with teams in Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa, Boston, Minneapolis-St. Paul and the New York City area. Free agency starts Friday with the majority of the PWHL's founding players to be selected in a 15-round draft on September 18th in Toronto. Los Angeles Dodgers majority owner Mark Walter is the league's financial backer. Walter bought out the seven-team rival Premier Hockey Federation and his group negotiated a collective bargaining agreement with the Professional Women's Hockey Players' Association this summer clearing the way for the new women's pro league. The PWHL's board of directors includes tennis legend Billie Jean King, sports executive Ilana Kloss, Dodgers president Stan Kasten and Dodgers senior vice-president of business strategy Royce Cohen. Hockey Hall of Famer Jayna Hefford is the league's senior vice-president of hockey operations.

John Herdman was introduced as Toronto FC head coach on Tuesday. Herdman stepped down from his post as head coach of Canada's men's team to take the Toronto FC job. Herdman spent 13 years coaching Canada national teams, starting with the women's team and switching to the men's program in 2018.

It's day one of the 2023 Canadian Senior Women's Golf Championship at the Mill River Golf Resort in Woodstock, Prince Edward Island. Five Manitobans are in the field including Tammy Gibson, Heather Shayna, Lisa Benson, Mary Turner and reigning provincial champion Rhonda Orr. 

baseball_2023Team Manitoba roster: Anthony Friesen (Pilot Mound), Justin Scott (Winnipeg), Andrew Lochhead (Killarney), Chris Moffatt (Morden), Liam Giesbrecht (Rosenort), Garrett Popplestone (Brandon), Ty Paddock (Oak River), Matt Johnston (Cypress River), Travis Friesen (Winkler), Jordan Robertson (Brandon), Kyle Nixon (Morden), Manny Lantiqua (Morden), Dylan Haney (Brandon), Dan Carter (Winnipeg), Ty Enns (Cartwright), Branden Hatley (Morden), Steve Prichard (Oak Bluff), Mitch Olson (Deloraine), Neil Walton (Winnipeg) & Bryan McIntyre (Winnipeg)

Team Manitoba brought home bronze medals from the National Men's Baseball Championship in Red Deer. Team Manitoba pitcher/coach Anthony Friesen will join Clayton Dreger on Sportsbeat which airs Wednesdays at 5:15 p.m. on AM 1250 Radio.