The Steinbach Regional Secondary School's junior varsity football team fell 68-12 to the Oak Park Raiders Wednesday at A. D. Penner Park. Nigel Reader scored the Sabres first major as he returned an interception 80 yards for a touchdown. SRSS quarterback Toby Plett then connected with Josiah Grenier for a touchdown to cut the Raiders lead to 20-12 in the second quarter. The Sabres defence forced four Oak Park turnovers. Wade Anderson had a forced fumble, interception and a handful of tackles. Steinbach Regional's next game is Thursday, September 29th against the Grant Park Pirates at A.D. Penner Park. 

Davis Fry and Nate Goodbrandson each had a goal and an assist in the Steinbach Pistons 4-2 victory over the Winnipeg Freeze at Bell MTS Iceplex. Davin Griffin and Travis Hensrud also scored for the Pistons who lead 3-0 after 40 minutes. Hensrud's second of the season into an empty net with 50 seconds left in regulation sealed the deal for Steinbach after the Freeze scored a pair of goals to cut the Pistons lead to 3-2 with five minutes remaining in the third period. Steinbach will face the OCN Blizzard on Friday at the T.G. Smith Centre. Both teams are 3-0 to start the 2022-23 Manitoba Junior Hockey League season. 

Gavin Gunderson and Brett Tataryn scored power play goals and Chris Fines stopped 27 shots as the expansion Niverville Nighthawks won their first game in franchise history 5-1 over the Winkler Flyers at the Centennial Arena. Josh Paulhus, Ty Kennett and Dayden Collier also scored for the Nighthawks who lead 3-0 and 4-1 at the period breaks. Niverville will look to make in two in a row over the Flyers when they host Winkler on Friday. 

Six goaltenders, 16 defensemen and 28 forwards will be attending Winnipeg Jets training camp which starts today at Bell MTS Iceplex. Players are divided into two groups and they are Team Hawerchuk and Team Steen. Practice sessions today are at 10 a.m. for Team Hawerchuk and 1 p.m. for Team Steen. The Jets first of six pre-season games is Sunday in Edmonton against the Oilers. 

Joe Poplawski has been selected as the 14th inductee to the Winnipeg Blue Bombers Ring of Honour at IG Field. A gifted receiver who was acquired via trade with Edmonton in 1978, Poplawski played for the Blue Bombers from 1978-86, was named the Canadian Football League’s Most Outstanding Rookie in 1978, and was twice saluted as the CFL’s Most Outstanding Canadian (first in 1981 and then again in 1986). He was also a finalist for the same award in 1989, 1984 and 1985. He still ranks third all-time in Blue Bombers history in receptions (549) and receiving yardage (8,341) behind only Milt Stegall and James Murphy. A five-time CFL All-Star (1978, 1981, 1984, 1985, 1986), he was inducted into the Winnipeg Football Club Hall of Fame in 1990 and the Canadian Football Hall of Fame in 1998. Poplawski’s name will be added to the Ring of Honour at halftime on Friday, October 28th when the Bombers close out the regular season against the B.C. Lions. He will join the 13 other inductees to the Ring of Honour in Chris Walby, Ken Ploen, Gerry James, Milt Stegall, Dieter Brock, Leo Lewis, Bud Grant, Herb Gray, Doug Brown, Jack Jacobs, Fritz Hanson, Bob Cameron and Bob Irving.

Three Manitoba teams won their opening game at the 2022 PointsBet Invitational in Fredericton. Reigning Canadian champion Kerri Einarson defeated Tracey Larocque of Thunder Bay 12-3; Jennifer Jones downed Andrea Kelly of Fredericton 9-5 and Matt Dunstone beat Greg Smith of St. John’s 15-2. The wins were worth $3,000 each to Einarson, Jones and Dunstone. Elite 8 winners will pocket $6,000, with $12,000 going to winners of Final 4 games, and $24,000 will be awarded to the men’s and women’s champions respectively after Sunday’s finals. Chelsea Carey was eliminated after losing 10-6 to Selena Sturmay of Edmonton. Kaitlyn Lawes, Mike McEwen, Reid Carruthers and Braden Calvert will play their Sweep 16 openers today.