Mayor Earl Funk reappointed Councillor Michael Zwaagstra as Deputy Mayor on Tuesday.

City council holds an organizational meeting annually, at which time the mayor appoints councillors to various posts and boards.

Michael Zwaagstra has served as Deputy Mayor ever since Mayor Earl Funk was elected in 2018.

At the meeting, Funk also appointed Councillor Bill Hiebert to the Jake Epp Library Board, Councillor Jake Hiebert to the Seine Rat Roseau Watershed District, Deputy Mayor Michael Zwaagstra to the RCMP Advisory Group, and Susan Penner to the Steinbach Community Development Corporation.

Meanwhile, Jake Kehler and Keith Unger will be citizens serving on the Steinbach Community Development Corporation.


In response to Canada's Online News Act and Meta (Facebook and Instagram) removing access to local news from their platforms, SteinbachOnline encourages you to get your news directly from your trusted source by bookmarking this page and downloading the SteinbachOnline app.