curling_hall_of_fame_2012 007

The Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame Directors introduced a new slate of inductees to be honored at the 25th annual dinner to be held at Canad Inns - Polo Park in Winnipeg on May 6th, 2012.


Jim Dunstone's 1980 Mixed Team with third Carol Dunstone, second Del Stitt and lead Elaine Jones curling out of the Heather Curling Club were the Canadian Mixed Champions.

Veteran Teams

The Ken Watson Teams of 1936, 1942 and 1949 with third Grant Watson, seconds Marvin McIntyre, Charlie Scrymgeour and Lyle Dyker and leads Charles Kerr, Jim Grant and Charles Read were three time British Consols and Macdonald Brier Canadian Champions.

1936    Ken Watson, Grant Watson, Marvin McIntyre, Charles Kerr

1942    Ken Watson, Grant Watson, Charlie Scrymgeour, Jim Grant

1949    Ken Watson, Grant Watson, Lyle Dyker, Charles Read

curling_hall_of_fame_2012 002

Howard Wood III

The Howard Wood Sr. Teams of 1930 and 1940 with Jimmy Congalton and Ernie Pollard at Third, seconds Vic Wood and Lionel Wood and leads Lionel Wood and Roy Enman were two time British Consols and Macdonald Brier Canadian Champions.

1930    Howard Wood Sr., Jimmy Congalton, Vic Wood, Lionel Wood

1940    Howard Wood Sr. Ernie Pollard, Howard Wood Jr., Roy Enman

Veteran Builder

Bruce Boreham as sports editor for the Winnipeg Tribune wrote the original story announcing the beginning of the Macdonald Brier Tankard. He was secretary of the 1967 Macdonald Brier Trustees and the Canadian Curling Championship. In 1970 he wrote the Official History of the Macdonald Brier which covered the first 40 years of the the event which includes a breakdown of the participants, scores, standings, biographies, entertainment, etc. He was inducted into the Canadian Curling hall of Fame in 1975. 


Nancy Rummery is a member of both the Deer Lodge and Assiniboine Memorial Curling Clubs and served on the executive of the M.L.C.A. for eight years before becoming President in 1997.  During her year as President the Tournament of Hearts was held for the first time in an arena and was a great success. She has volunteered at numerous championships and continues to officiate at provincial events.

curling_hall_of_fame_2012 003

AM 1250 Sports Director Clayton Dreger asked Nancy Rummery why the 1998 Provincial Ladies Curling Championship was such a huge success at the St. James Civic Centre in Winnipeg.

Heather Helston is the Curator of the Manitoba Hall of Fame and Museum and under her tutelage she has nurtured and expanded the Hall of Fame to where it is the most complete museum in the country.  Her dedication and hard work in collecting, cataloguing, researching  and maintain the museum as well as displaying and providing assistance to curling clubs and events has been invaluable to the sport.

curling_hall_of_fame_2012 004

Heather Helston talked about curling and what the sport has meant to her and her family.

curling_hall_of_fame_2012 010

Al Dyker (representing uncle Lyle Dyker), Nancy Rummery, Howard Wood III (representing Howard Wood Sr. & Howard Wood Jr.), Heather Helston, Dean Dunstone (representing parents Jim & Carol Dunstone), Elaine Jones